Janet T. Mills Governor

Sara Gagné-Holmes Commissioner



Maine Department of Health and Human Services Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention 11 State House Station 286 Water Street Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 Tel; (207) 287-8016; Fax (207) 287-2887 TTY: Dial 711 (Maine Relay)

Tel. (207) 287-5671 Web Site Address: http://www.maine.gov/healthinspection

Fax (207) 287-3165

HEALTH INSPECTION PROGRAM CERTIFIED FOOD PROTECTION MANAGER REQUIREMENTS

Every eating establishment must employ on its staff a Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM). Some establishments are exempt from this requirement as stated below. A CFPM certificate must accompany the application for a new establishment and change of ownership. A CFPM must be hired within 60 days of the departure of the last CFPM leaving employment. Eating establishments must post in a conspicuous area the certification of the CFPM(s), and the certificate must be made available to the Department upon request.

Responsibilities of the CFPM

The responsibilities include training and implementing a program of food protection and education for each person in charge, so that he or she will be able to successfully complete the demonstration and knowledge required of the Maine Food Code.

In the event that during an inspection by a Regulatory Authority, the person in charge is not able to make the demonstration required by the Maine Food Code or there are multiple critical violations present during such inspection, the Department may thereafter require every person in charge for such eating establishment to be a Certified Food Protection Manager.

Certification Requirements

In the State of Maine, the following will be accepted as meeting the requirements for certification:

- a. Having written proof of completion of specialized training in the preparation and serving of safe food; and,
- b. Receiving a passing grade on a competency test, approved by the National Conference for Food Protection (CFP) and found here. Such CFPM certification shall be renewed through re-training and re-testing every 5 years.

Exemptions

When considering the certification of a CFPM, the following establishments are exempt from the CFPM requirement:

- Bed and Breakfast and lodging establishments that serve a continental breakfast consisting of nonpotentially hazardous baked goods, whole fruit or fruit sliced for same-day service, cereal, milk, juice,
 portion-controlled cream cheese, portioned-controlled peanut butter, and portion-controlled jam or jelly.
- Temporary eating establishments that operate fewer than 14 days;
- Establishments that prepare, serve or sell non-potentially hazardous pre-packaged foods;
- Establishments that prepare only non-potentially hazardous foods;
- Establishments that heat only commercially processed potentially hazardous foods for hot holding. Cooling of potentially hazardous foods are not exempt from the CFPM requirement;
- Sporting/recreational, camps operating 90 days or fewer per year and serving only their own guests; and
- Eating Establishments which pose minimal risk of causing or contributing to foodborne illness, based on the nature of the operation and the extent of food preparation and are Category 1 Eating Establishments within Section 6(B)(2)(a) of chapter 201 Health Inspection Program Administration Rule.